Chart of the Presidents and Vice Presidents

Chart of the Presidents and Vice Presidents

The first line of Article II Section 1 of the US Constitution states, "The executive power shall be vested in a President of the United States of America." With these words, the office of the president was established. Since 1789 and the election of George Washington, America's first president, 44 individuals have served as the Chief Executive of the United States. However, Grover Cleveland served two nonconsecutive terms which means that the next president of the United States will be number 46.

The unamended Constitution mandated that a president would serve for four years. However, nowhere did it state if there was to be a limit on the number of terms to which they could be elected. However, President Washington set a precedent of only serving two terms which was followed until November 5, 1940 when Franklin Roosevelt was elected for a third term. He would go on to win a fourth before dying in office. The twenty-second amendment was passed soon afterward that would limit presidents to only serving two terms or ten years.

This chart includes the names of all presidents of the United States, as well as links to their biographies. Also included are the names of their vicepresidents, their political party and terms in office. You might also be interested in reading about what presidents are on the bills of US currency.

Chart of the Presidents and Vice-Presidents


George WashingtonJohn AdamsNo Party Designation1789-1797
John AdamsThomas JeffersonFederalist1797-1801
Thomas JeffersonAaron Burr
George Clinton
James MadisonGeorge Clinton
Elbridge Gerry
James MonroeDaniel D TompkinsDemocratic-Republican1817-1825
John Quincy AdamsJohn C CalhounDemocratic-Republican1825-1829
Andrew JacksonJohn C Calhoun
Martin Van Buren
Martin Van BurenRichard M. JohnsonDemocratic1837-1841
William Henry HarrisonJohn TylerWhig1841
John TylerNoneWhig1841-1845
James Knox PolkGeorge M DallasDemocratic1845-1849
Zachary TaylorMillard FillmoreWhig1849-1850
Millard FillmoreNoneWhig1850-1853
Franklin PierceWilliam R KingDemocratic1853-1857
James BuchananJohn C BreckinridgeDemocratic1857-1861
Abraham LincolnHannibel Hamlin
Andrew Johnson
Andrew JohnsonNoneUnion1865-1869
Ulysses Simpson GrantSchuyler Colfax
Henry Wilson
Rutherford Birchard HayesWilliam A WheelerRepublican1877-1881
James Abram GarfieldChester Alan ArthurRepublican1881
Chester Alan ArthurNoneRepublican1881-1885
Stephen Grover ClevelandThomas HendricksDemocratic1885-1889
Benjamin HarrisonLevi P MortonRepublican1889-1893
Stephen Grover ClevelandAdlai E StevensonDemocratic1893-1897
William McKinleyGarret A. Hobart
Theodore Roosevelt
Theodore RooseveltCharles W FairbanksRepublican1901-1909
William Howard TaftJames S ShermanRepublican1909-1913
Woodrow WilsonThomas R MarshallDemocratic1913-1921
Warren Gamaliel HardingCalvin CoolidgeRepublican1921-1923
Calvin CoolidgeCharles G DawesRepublican1923-1929
Herbert Clark HooverCharles CurtisRepublican1929-1933
Franklin Delano RooseveltJohn Nance Garner
Henry A. Wallace
Harry S. Truman
Harry S. TrumanAlben W BarkleyDemocratic1945-1953
Dwight David EisenhowerRichard Milhous NixonRepublican1953-1961
John Fitzgerald KennedyLyndon Baines JohnsonDemocratic1961-1963
Lyndon Baines JohnsonHubert Horatio HumphreyDemocratic1963-1969
Richard Milhous NixonSpiro T. Agnew
Gerald Rudolph Ford
Gerald Rudolph FordNelson RockefellerRepublican1974-1977
James Earl Carter, Jr.Walter MondaleDemocratic1977-1981
Ronald Wilson ReaganGeorge Herbert Walker BushRepublican1981-1989
George Herbert Walker BushJ. Danforth QuayleRepublican1989-1993
William Jefferson ClintonAlbert Gore, Jr.Democratic1993-2001
George Walker BushRichard CheneyRepublican2001-2009
Barack ObamaJoe BidenDemocratic2009-2017
Donald TrumpMike PenceRepublican2017 -